Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

CASUAL WEEKEND RIDES

Leave a comment

I just got back from a 3-day excursion to Williamsburg, Va.   I was chaperoning my son’s class trip.   We had a great time.   So much history.   Neat place.

While it was nice to get away, it was really nice to get back on the bike.    I got out yesterday for a 13-mile ride on my GT.   I’ve been focusing on that bike as my “go to” bike recently.  I like that I don’t have to don all my riding attire to go out for a casual ride on it.   No special shoes, no gloves, no racing shirt, no spandex riding shorts….

I had on shorts, a t-shirt and sneakers on yesterday.   I got on the bike and just started pedaling.  (Helmet, of course)

Sure, my Cannondale is a much FASTER bike, but I’m not out to see how fast I can get through a ride.   I actually wanted this ride to NOT end.    It was a beautiful October afternoon here yesterday.   Overcast and breezy, with temps hovering in the upper 60’s, lower 70’s.

The Autumn colors in the trees were evident as I wove my way down the winding roads out this way.   Leaves were falling and they crunched as my mountain bike tires rode over them.    Just a perfect afternoon.

The route I rode yesterday brought me by some railroad tracks too.    While I didn’t see a train, I could hear them off in the distance.   Something about trains and the Autumn weather just conjure up a sense of Americana for me that is right up there with Baseball and Apple Pie.

I’m less than 400 miles from 2,500 for the year.  I still have all of November and December to ride.   I’ve been really trying to get out on the weekends and get at least 10 to 15 miles on both Saturdays and Sundays.    It really helps ‘pad’ my mileage for the week.

Today is going to be another CLASSIC Autumn day here.   Where should I ride to today?

Leave a Reply

