Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

A DIFFERENT OCTOBER THIS YEAR

Leave a comment

Autumn has arrived here in the Carolinas.    Wonderful time of year to be outside, whether it be for a walk, a jog, or a bike ride.  

This time last year, I was a man possessed.   Miles were all I was looking for on the bike.   I found them in my morning commute to work.   I was crushing the mileage in October of 2011, to the  tune of 255 miles ridden into work and another 73 miles on my Cannondale….   328 miles for the month of October. 

Fast forward to this year, and I’m stalling out.   I’ve got 53 commuting miles for the month, and 81 miles total.   Comparing this October to last is painful for me.   I’m still riding into work, but I’ll be honest….  I’m done riding in the cold weather.   I know I’ll have a “resurgence of purpose” soon enough, but for now, I’m not ready to get back into COLD WEATHER riding.  

I’m busily researching Electric Bike conversion kits, which ironically would allow me to ride more easily in the coming months.   COLD months.

I feel like a kid at Christmas.   I think I have it narrowed down.

Now I just have to do it.

Here’s to more miles on the bike for November.

Leave a Reply

