Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

WITH AGE COMES….

Leave a comment

You know the saying… “With Age Comes Wisdom.”   While that indeed does ring true, with age comes a whole slew of other things….

With age, comes:

  1. Tired joints
  2. The need for more sleep (which I’m not getting)
  3. Popping Ibuprofen like it’s a daily vitamin
  4. Time constraints (that eat into riding time)
  5. Difficulty of waking up early to exercise

I could go on and on, I’m sure, but you get the point.  

I find the older I get, the harder it is to get motivated to do a long ride into work.    Once I actually start the ride, I’m fine.  It’s getting to the starting line that takes more energy, more motivation and more mental coaxing on my part.  

Throw in weather factors (temp, precipitation) and there are some days I’m amazed I got on the bike at all.  As I look at my commuting miles this year, compared to last year, I must be doing something right though.    Here’s a comparison of my “work” miles this year (up to this point) to last year:

2011:   406 Miles
2012:  855 Miles

In 2011, I really picked  up the pace in August with my commuting miles.    From August – Dec of last year, I had 931 miles.   If I can keep that pace up this year, I’m going to end the year with close to 2,500 total miles.    I’ll take that.

With age comes the satisfaction of accomplishments.   I’m 44 years old, and I’m still cranking out THOUSANDS of miles every year…

Leave a Reply

