Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

I LOVE IT WHEN A PLAN DOESN’T COME TOGETHER…

Leave a comment

Yesterday, while playing a few games of darts with Bill (he won 2 out of the 3 games…), we got to talking about commuting (by bike) into work.   I got totally stoked just thinking about  my Monday morning ride into work.

Fast forward to 4:30am today, and GONE was any motivation/inspiration I had for riding in.   I was tired.   My legs were tired.   My body was tired.

I started driving into work today and the whole time I was basically talking myself out of any type of “LONG” ride into work.   I have multiple parking locales I can head to and park the car to ride the rest of the way.   I’ve got a 13-mile spot, an 11-mile spot, a 7.5-mile spot, and a 1.5-mile spot.   The 13 and 11 mile spots weren’t even a consideration.   I was really focused yesterday on the 7.5-mile locale.   

This morning, I ALMOST talked myself out of that location.   Glad I didn’t listen to the proverbial Devil sitting on my shoulder whispering in my ear, “Skip it!   Just ride in 1.5 miles!” 

I think the deciding factor was a little motivational saying I have hanging on the bulletin board in my office that says:

INSANITY is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

I love it when a plan (mental) doesn’t come together.

Leave a Reply

