Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

77 MILES TO GO…

Leave a comment

Back in September of 2007, I got “back on the bike.”   After an 8-year hiatus from any form of cycling, I made a vow to myself to ride 1,000 miles in the 6 months prior to my 40th birthday.  

Those early miles were tough.   Tough is actually putting it lightly.   They were downright brutal.   Not only was I struggling physically to do what I once did with ease (and with a sincere “passion”), but mentally, it was a wake  up call for how truly out of shape I was.  

The thought of doing a 10-mile ride, or a 20-mile ride was just disheartening.

I stuck with it though.  

I remember when I first had 77 miles on my bike speedometer, on my way to 1,000 miles.   I think I was too tired and exhausted to realize HOW FAR AWAY I WAS from my goal.  77 miles down…   923 to go.    AAAAAAHHHHH!!!!!!!!!

I stuck with it though.  

On Dec. 31st, 2007 (2 and a 1/2 months ahead of schedule), I reached my goal of 1,000 miles.  

Fast forward to 2011 and here I am staring down at the number “77.”   This year though, 77 more miles will put me at the 3,000 mile plateau!   3,000 frickin’ miles!   Yeah boy!

It’s been a HELLUVA year.   Great rides.   Awesome memories of roads traveled, sights seen, and the camaraderie of riding with friends and strangers.  

77 miles to go.  

What will my final mileage be on Dec. 31st, 2011?   Not sure.   Don’t care.   Everything from this point on (after 1,724 miles) is a new record for me.

2012 is on the horizon.   Need to start thinking of how I can top this year of cycling.

I need 77 miles first though.

Leave a Reply

