Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

BEST AUGUST EVER…

Leave a comment

August has never been a HUGE month for me, cycling wise. It’s usually the height of summer, meaning the height of HEAT here in the North Carolina. Not ideal riding weather. Here are my mileage totals for the last few years for August:

August 2008: 38 Miles

August 2009: 30 Miles

August 2010: 79 Miles

Like I said, not a good month for me normally.

Well, this year I shattered my numbers for August. I’m at 327 miles for the month, on my way to 350.

How’d I do it? Simple. I am riding into work more and more. Almost every work-day, I’m heading in on the bike. 13 to 25 miles a day, depending on the route I take in. I’m loving it! A few side benefits: I’ve dropped 6 lbs in the past 2.5 weeks. I’m eating better, and eating less. Saving gas and wear and tear on the car too. It’s a win-win all around.

I’m on my way to 3,650 miles this year. If I can keep up this morning commute, I’ve got it in the bag! No rain please! 🙂

Leave a Reply

