Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

DIFFERENT

Leave a comment

2011 is a much different year than 2008, from a cycling standpoint. I can’t put my finger on it, but I feel completely different this year about cycling than I did in 2008. After the 24 HOB ride in 2008, I just STOPPED riding. Joyfully so. I didn’t want to ride. I didn’t look at my bike. I didn’t miss my bike.

Not this year. I got back on the bike 2 days after the ride this year. I already have 30 miles to my name, since the ride. In 2008, I rode a total of 100 miles for the year (after the ride.)

I can’t wait to go out for a ride. I’m hoping tonight I can sneak in a ride. I really, really want to.

I think I mentally don’t want a repeat of 2008, as far as miles are concerned. I feel good. Legs feel great. Mentally, I’m “over” the punishment I took on the 24 hour ride. It was (mentally) a very tough event. I’m not as scarred as I thought I’d be after riding 222 miles.

I’m so close to 3,000 miles for the year here. I have to hit it. I can feel a “push” inside me that is saying, “GO! GO! GO!” I’m listening to it.

I know that years from now I will look back on my cycling logs and just sit in amazement at the numbers I’m pulling this year. I would love to say I could match (or even beat) these totals someday, but the truth is, I’m not sure if I ever will.

It’s been a HELLUVA ride so far and I’m enjoying the tail end of the riding now.

Now I ride for fun. Now I ride to take it all in. Now I ride for the mileage. My training is done. Now I get to reap the benefits of all the hard rides I’ve done.

Life is good.

Leave a Reply

