Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

NOT BECAUSE I HAVE TO

Leave a comment

This morning, on my way into work, I passed an older gentleman on a bike. Now, his bike was nothing special. To be quite honest, it was a piece of junk. Based on the dissheveled look up on the cyclist’s face, and the tattered clothes he was wearing, I could gather that this bike may have been his most prized possession. He was riding that bike because he had to.

Upon seeing this gentleman, I realized that I am fortunate in that I ride my bike because I want to. I don’t need to.


The old guy I passed was just churning out the miles on his way to who knows where. He had a backpack full of stuff, along with a few water bottles. He had at least 2 on his bike, and one in his backpack. I’ll give this guy credit though… he did have a helmet on, and his bike was equipped with a front headlight and a blinking tail light. He was doing all he could to be as safe as he could be while out pedaling.

I have started to bike more and more to work. Because I want to. Again, I realize I am incredibly fortunate. The 2 bikes I have the choice of riding are top of the line models for mountain bikes and road bikes.

I drove in today (all the way) to work because I didn’t feel like riding in. The guy I passed this morning though didn’t have that choice.

I’m always amazed and humbled by the little signs along the path of life that remind me of how good I have it.

Tonight, I might ride my bike. Not because I have to though….

Leave a Reply

