Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

OVER 5,000 MILES

Leave a comment

A little over 3.5 years ago, I decided to get back into cycling. I had always enjoyed riding as a kid, a teen, a young adult, and now (in what I call mid-life), I’m still riding.

I’m riding more than ever actually. Over 5,000 miles on my 2 bikes in the past 3.5 years. I’m racking up 100 mile weeks here like it’s a common occurrence. I’m on pace to exceed 2,500 miles this year alone. I’ll be happy to surpass 2,000 miles, to be honest.

Bill and I are traniing harder than 2008 when we did 201 miles in 24 hours. The weather is warming up, which only means we will ramp up our training and mileage even more. 150 mile weeks are not out of the question.

This July, it’s 300 miles or 24 hours. Whichever comes 1st. My next tattoo will be my mileage etched into my right calf with the date: July 29-30, 2011.

Can’t wait to get that tattoo! It will be quite a story for our grand-children.

Leave a Reply

