Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

DOES IT PAY TO RIDE A BIKE? ($5/day….)

Leave a comment

There are many health benefits associated with riding a bike. You can read study after study that will support this claim. I know I have dropped 20 lbs (and kept them off) since jumping back on my bike 2.5 years ago. I wouldn’t give it up for the world.

This year (starting back in January…. makes sense), I made it a goal of mine to ride into work more often than I did in 2009.

Back in 2009, I rode into work 55 times. Got about 150+ miles to my name simply by riding in a short distance on each of those days. I also save $5/day each time I ride in, because I don’t have to pay to park. Not too shabby. A nice way to save $260/year.

This year, I have ridden in 99 times as of today. Over 360 miles by doing this. Over $500 saved. I love it.

I call it being frugal (and healthy). I’m keeping the weight off, I’m enjoying RIDING my bike, and I’m saving $5/day.

Leave a Reply

