Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

SHADE OF THE CORN

Leave a comment

Is it Thursday already? Wow! Last day of the work week. I’ll take it. Tomorrow is a work holiday. Yeah! I want to ride.

I have 45 miles to my name this week. Had a KILLER ride 3 days ago (Monday) with Bill. We rode a nice 15 mile route that both of us know like the back of our hand.

Had a great clip going for a while. The temps were in the mid 80’s, but the humidity was non-existent. Perfect weather for riding.

We started quick and kept going. The legs felt good, despite doing a 26 mile ride the day before. Strong and ready to ride. I love when I feel like that. It was invigorating.

Towards the end of the ride, we turned onto Roscoe Howey Rd. Nice, hilly road. Lots of downhills and not too many uphills.

The sun was starting to hang low in the sky. It was nearing 8:15pm. We rode along the farms that had corn growing on both sides. The corn stalks had to be 8 feet tall, if not taller! Gorgeous green stalks. Best looking corn I’ve seen since moving down here 3 years ago.

It was a picturesque scene. The shade from the corn stalks covered the road we were on. It was actually getting cool. Not bad for a late June ride.

It reminded me of that Kevin Costner cycling film from the 80’s, “American Flyers.” I felt like I was cycling through America’s Heartland in Iowa. Miles and Miles of nothing but corn. It’s a nice stark difference to the cityscape I work in each Monday through Friday. I get to come home and ride through farm-land.

The miles added up quickly. My legs felt good. My attitude felt even better. I cherish rides like this.

Nothing better.

Leave a Reply

