Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

ENJOYING A MONTH OF BIKE-LESS NESS

Leave a comment

I’m actually enjoying not riding this month. So much of 2008 for me was a focus on the July ride for the 24 Hours of Booty event. Bill and I trained, trained, and then trained some more. To the tune of 1,800 miles in 6 months. That’s a lot of riding for someone (me) who has a family, job, side job (bread) to take care of.

Early morning rides, late night rides, weekend rides. Riding in the rain, sun, heat, humidity, cool air. You name, it, Bill and I rode in it. All hours of the day. We had weeks of 100+ miles. We had 300 mile months. Month after month. Daily plotting and planning to get in 20-30 miles here and there. Lot of “mental” work to add to the “physical” aspect of getting it all done. We both have our wives to thank immensely for allowing us the time to get in those 1,800 miles. We couldn’t have done it w/o them. They know that, but more importantly, WE KNOW THAT, so, Thank you Jeanne and Kelly.

I really did enjoy the training. It wasn’t until AFTER the ride that I realized all the training paid off. I’m still bragging to ANYONE that will listen that I rode 202 miles in ONE day. All this at the ripe age of 40. It’s quite a notch to have on my list of “things I’ve done.” The biggest surprise to me was how well I recovered from the mileage. 202 miles didn’t kill me. It wasn’t as tough as I thought it was going to be. It wasn’t easy, but I was surprised it wasn’t harder.

This month though, I’m glad to be off the bike. September will be different. But for now, I’m bike-less and loving every minute of it.

Leave a Reply

