Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

6 MONTHS LATER | 1,500 MILES

Leave a comment

So, I’ve been riding diligently for 6 months now. I turn 40 tomorrow. In the past 6 months, I have ridden 1,502.13 miles. After an 8-year layoff of any kind of riding, I feel a great sense of accomplishment as I look at my 1/2 year’s worth of work.

Scorching heat, frozen toes, rain, fog, dogs… you name it, I’ve experienced these past 6 months.

It’s been a great ride. I’m in better shape at 40 than I was at 30. I still have some weight to lose, but that’s coming, with the warmer weather.

More amazing to me is that I rode 1,500 miles without getting as much as a flat on my bike. (I’m knocking on wood as I just typed that.) 🙂

I got out this morning for a nice 10 mile ride. Had a good clip going. Weather was cold though. Not as cold as yesterday, but 33 degrees is not ideal riding weather to me. I was layered to the tilt. Took me 10 minutes just to get dressed in layers to ride this morning.

I’m off to Atlanta tomorrow for 2 days. No riding. I’ll make it up on Friday….

Weekend should be nice for some more riding. I’ve got to step it up a bit if I’m going to hit 4,000 miles this year.

Leave a Reply

