Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

2 RIDES FOR MONDAY

Leave a comment

Wow, I can’t remember the last time I got out for 2 rides in on day. 30.2 miles for the day.

The 2nd ride today was a brutal adventure reminiscent of riding in a wind tunnel. The 1st 1/2 of the ride was awesome. Wind to my back, I was cranking out the miles. Legs felt great. I knew full well that the 2nd 1/2 of the ride was going to SUCK!

It didn’t let me down. I went from an average of 18mph to a measly 12mph. Wind, wind, and more wind beat me down like a dog. It was awful. My main thought was “just get me off this bike…”

I didn’t stop riding though. got in 14.4 miles in under 57 minutes. Not a great average, but I ended above 15 mph. (barely.)

I was contemplating riding early tomorrow morning, but we’ve got some cold weather moving in upon us here. I figure I’ll wait til tomorrow afternoon or evening to ride. It will be warmer then.

I’ve got 35.5 miles to my name this week. I want to near 100 by Saturday.

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

