Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

2 FOR SATURDAY

Leave a comment

2 rides that is.

I got out yesterday for another ride around 3pm. Rode 14.7 miles on a route I know like the back of my hand.

The first part of the ride was fantastic. Made great time. Crushed.

Then came the 2nd part. Steady wind that just teased and laughed at my tired legs. The only good thing about all the wind was that is was not brutally cold. I had a good sweat going, so it kept me going.

Bill and I are going to ride today. We’re shooting for 25 – 30 miles. I’m hoping for the lesser side of that scale. For some reason, my legs are really tired. I will be OK today, as long as we do a decent warm up. I didn’t do that yesterday, and I paid for it on the way back. By the time I realized I was going to have a good 8 miles to ride in steady wind, it was too late. My tank was running low, so to say.

ONe of the things I want to work on in 2008 is pacing myself better for these long rides. Start slow, build up, end strong. That’s my plan.

I may start working on that today. I have a feeling I will have a tough ride today. Mentally, I need to prepare for it.

Temperatures in the 60’s will most definitely help me today.

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

