Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

METRIC CENTURY?

Leave a comment

Bill sent me to this website here in the Carolinas that organizes rides for charity. On January 1st, they’re holding a “METRIC CENTURY” ride. For those of you that don’t know what a Metric Century is, it’s 100 kilometers, or 62 miles.

It would be a great warm up for our upcoming rides. The longest ride I’ve done since September is 41 miles, so I’m not sure I’m ready yet. I don’t know the route either. 62 miles on flat ground is doable. Not so if there are killer hills.

Gives me something to train for though. Starting January 1st, I’m going to turn up the notch on my training. Right now, I’m riding to ride. No goal in sight except for the goal of reaching 1,000 miles. Now that I have reached that goal, it’s time to start training for riding 65+ miles for 3 days in a row.

I’m looking forward to turning the dial up, so to say on my trainings. Bill has mentioned the same thing to me, so we’ll both head out and really work on specific strategies, or work on our strengths and/or weaknesses as riders.

Watch out Metric Century. Here I come.

Leave a Reply

