Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

1/2 an Inch, and a Steady Diet of Gnats

Leave a comment

843 MILES DOWN/ 157 TO GO

The heat wave here in the Carolinas continues. Yesterday it got up into the low 80’s. Crazy warm weather. I’m loving it.

I got home from work and jumped on my bike for a quick ride (12.33 miles) around town. It was a great feeling being out on the roads around my development, and not being stuck IN my development.

About 1/2 way through my ride, I stopped on the side of the road and adjusted my seat post. I raised it maybe a half an inch. What a difference! The longer leg strides created by that 1/2 inch has made a big change in my pedaling. I feel I’m pedaling easier, more efficiently, and my seat is now a tad bit more comfortable. It made the final 6 miles of the ride perfect. I should have done this 800 miles ago.

Along the way yesterday, out on the country roads that dot the landscape of the county I live in down here, the GNAT population has EXPLODED. The warm December weather apparently has the ANIMAL Kingdom happy as well…

At one point, I felt as if I was back in biblical times with the Locust infestation. I was attacked by a swarm of gnats that made seeing, breathing, and swallowing incredibly difficult. I came out of it all unscathed, but I sure did get a nice healthy dose of gnats “tar-tar”. Mmmmm…. I think a glass of red wine would have complemented the protein meal nicely.

Back to the ride. It was starting to get dark, and in my infinite wisdom, I was wearing my dark grey and black racing shirt, along with my black riding shorts. I was fitting into the night landscape just perfectly.

With that in mind, I needed to pick up the pace. There have been a few cyclist’s deaths here in the Carolinas in the past few months. I do not need to be added to that list.

I cruised home with enough sunlight to keep me visible to passing cars.

Another ride in the books. I’m quickly closing in on my 1,000 miles.

Leave a Reply

