Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

102 for the WEEK

Leave a comment

856 MILES DOWN/ 144 TO GO

Miles that is. 102 so far since Saturday.

I’ve managed to get on my bike for a meaningful ride 5 days in a row. Looking back, that may be a record. For the week, that puts me at 102 miles with a good 3 or 4 more rides in the works. Could I hit 150 miles this week? Time will tell.

Here’s the monthly break down of my mileage:

September: 289.68
October: 276.15
November: 181.75
December: 109.26

Grand total: 856.84

144 More to go. 19 more days left to December.

I see the New Year with a re-set of my pedometer so I can tackle 3,000 miles for 2008

FYI, I got out this morning for a 12.77 mile ride.

Riding the past 5 days in a row has really tired out my legs, but it has also taught me the value and art of warming up at the beginning of each ride.

I no longer hit the streets like a bat out of hell. I take the first 2 to 3 miles at a leisurely pace. Natural instinct tends to take over after that, and before I know it, I’m cycling at my normal pace of 16 to 20 miles per hour.

Without that warmup period, there’s no way I would’ve clocked in over 100 miles so far this week.

With age comes wisdom… (and muscle wear, and Ibuprofen, and soaking baths…)

Leave a Reply

