Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

THE FIRST 79 MILES

Leave a comment

So, I’m 79 miles into my 1,000 mile “journey.” Most of those miles came in groups of 15-20 mile increments. Most of those rides have been Bill and I just taking some of the local roads down here in Waxhaw, NC.

There are some great roads down here that I do enjoy riding along. Those of you that know me know how much I enjoy photography and trying to capture the way I view the world so that I can share it via my photos. Cycling allows me to take in these country roads at a much nicer pace and it allows me to truly see the “hidden gems” along the roadside, whether it be an old dilapidated barn, or an abandoned car, or a truly unique mailbox that is anchored by a pre-industrial revolution-looking plow. So many gems to take in. It’s one of the things I look forward to when I ride. I take mental notes as to be sure to revisit these certain locales with my camera.

I’ve dropped 11 pounds since getting back on my bike. I’m not going to lie. That’s a MAJOR reason I’m back to biking as well. I’ve put on some weight these past 8 years. I’m ready to get back to my “healthy” weight. 1,000 miles should do that.

Leave a Reply

