Ray's Biking Blog

I ride my bike to work… I'm a bike commuter

AN INTRODUCTION

Leave a comment

So, 40 is staring me down. In 2 days I will be 39 and a 1/2. 40 is gaining ground, and I can hear it coming!

I have recently gotten back into bicycling after a long hiatus. When I say long hiatus, it’s been about 8 years since I have ridden seriously.

With 40 bearing down on me, I want to accomplish the task of riding 1,000 miles before this happens. I’ve got 6 months. (also known as: 184 days. 26 weeks).

There are many reasons why I want to accomplish this goal. Part of it is that I refuse to get old. The last 8 years I have felt old. Not being able to do as well what I could do when I was in my 20’s is a shot to any guy’s ego. I also don’t want to be too old/inactive to play with my kids. They enjoy the outdoors, and I want to help them further their experiences of mountain biking, hiking, rollerblading, camping, you name it. Anything that keeps the heart going and keeps one young.

So, with all this in mind, I took the first step to getting back on the bike. I got it into the shop. I have a REALLY nice GT Mountain Bike that I have always enjoyed riding, although the last 8 years of neglect needed to be taken care of.

I got my bike back and the tires/brakes/gears etc… are all in TOP condition. Ride away!!

I also went out and got a speedometer so I could track my mileage, my average speed, my trip distance, as well as my maximum speed. (I hit 40MPH on a downhill ride last weekend.) How ironic. FORTY.

Assisting/Helping me along the way is a neighbor in my new neighborhood. “Bill” has been riding since probably as long as I have (as a kid.) He’s been more into it then I have been though. He’s done cross-state rides. He’s ridden from Boston to New York (and probably back.) A 100-mile ride to him is an after-thought.

Bill and I try to get out at least once a week for a good 15-25 mile ride. Some weeks we pull off 2 rides like this. That’s a good week.

So, I’m here to track my mileage and offer some insight of what’s it’s like for a middle-aged guy attempting to tackle 1,000 miles before 40 tackles me.

Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

